Objectives

  • Exposure to the industrial environment, which cannot be simulated in the classroom and hence creating competent professionals for the industry.
  • Provide possible opportunities to learn, understand and sharpen the real time technical / managerial skills required at the job.
  • Exposure to the current technological developments relevant to the subject area of training.
  • Create conducive conditions with quest for knowledge and its applicability on the job.

Why Internships are important!

Benefits to the Institute

  • An opportunity to get hired by the Industry/ organization.
  • Practical experience in an organizational setting & Industry environment.
  • Excellent opportunity to see how the theoretical aspects learned in classes are integrated into the practical world. On-floor experience provides much more professional experience which is often worth more than classroom teaching.
  • Helps them decide if the industry and the profession is the best career option to pursue.
  • Opportunity to learn new skills and supplement knowledge.
  • Opportunity to practice communication and teamwork skills.
  • Opportunity to learn strategies like time management, multi-tasking etc in an industrial setup.
  • Makes a valuable addition to their resume.
  • Enhances their candidacy for higher education.
  • Creating a network and social circle and developing relationships with industry people.
  • Provides opportunity to evaluate the organization before committing to a full time position.

Benefits to Students

  • Build industry academia relations.
  • Makes the placement process easier.
  • Improve institutional credibility & branding.
  • Helps in retention of the students.
  • Curriculum revision can be made based on feedback from Industry/ students.
  • Improvement in teaching learning process.

Benefits to the Industry

  • Availability of ready to contribute candidates for employment.
  • Year round source of highly motivated pre-professionals.
  • Students bring new perspectives to problem solving.
  • Visibility of the organization is increased on campus.
  • Quality candidate’s availability for temporary or seasonal positions and projects.
  • Freedom for industrial staff to pursue more creative projects.
  • Availability of flexible, cost-effective workforce not requiring a long-term employer commitment.
  • Proven, cost-effective way to recruit and evaluate potential employees.
  • Enhancement of the employer's image in the community by contributing to the educational enterprise.

Internship opportunities available at KJSCE!

In-house Internships (within the college)

  • Internship offered by faculty member (Inter/Intra-department)
  • Bloombox
  • Software Development Cell (SDC)
  • Mega Projects (Orion / Onyx / Robocon etc)
  • Workshops / Training Programs organized by College / Departments / Student’s Councils
  • Parvaah
  • Library / Department / Institute / Campus administration
  • Any other internship approved by concerned authorities

External Internships (Outside the college)

  • Industry Internship with/without Stipend
  • Govt / PSU Internship (BARC / Railway / ISRO etc)
  • NGO / Social Internship
  • Working at Family Business
  • Internship with outside Institute / Professor
  • Internship with Startups / Monitored Incubation centres (RiiDL / SINE / Any other established incubation centres)
  • Industrial Training Programs organized by external entities
  • Any other internship approved by concerned authorities
 

Internship Committee

Department Name Mail id Extn Room no
I/C Internship Cell Mr. Sandeep Parmar sandeep.parmar@somaiya.edu 9058 B - 002
UG - Department Internship Coordinator
COMP Prof. Shweta Chachara shwetachachra@somaiya.edu 9112 B-117
Prof. Pradnya Gotmare pradnyagothmare@somaiya.edu 9121 B-116
ETRX Prof. Nilesh Lakade nilesh.lakade@somaiya.edu 9207 B-509
Prof. Seema Talmale seematalmale@somaiya.edu 9223 B-407
EXTC Prof. Sandeep Sainkar sandeepsainkar@somaiya.edu 9308 A-222
Prof. Chaitali Kulkarni chaitali.i@somaiya.edu 9325 A-213
IT Prof. Purnima Ahirao purnimaahirao@somaiya.edu 9419 B-315
Prof. Leena Sahu l.sahu@somaiya.edu 9450 B-309
MECH Dr. Shivangi Thakkar shivangiruparel@somaiya.edu 9513 A-307
Prof. Vilas Dhore vilasdhore@somaiya.edu 9522 B-011
PG - Department Internship Coordinator
COMP Dr. Bhakti Palkar bhaktiraul@somaiya.edu 9118 B-210
ETRX Prof. Nilesh Lakade nilesh.lakade@somaiya.edu 9207 B-509
EXTC Prof. Dipak Kulkarni dipakkulkarni@somaiya.edu 9303 A-215
IT Prof. Sangeeta Nagpure sangeetanagpure@somaiya.edu 9412 B-318
MECH (CC) Prof. Ajay Gangrade akgangrade@somaiya.edu 9506 A-013
MECH (EE) Prof. Ramola Sinha ramolasinha@somaiya.edu 9495 A-309

Internship Converted into Opportunities

Select Year:
 
Student Name Year Branch Industry / Institute Package offered
Year 2020-21
Ansh Rathod LY COMP Arconnet 5.25 Lacs
Dhruv Gandhi LY COMP Arconnet 5.25 Lacs
Fatema Motiwala LY COMP Arconnet 5.25 Lacs
Mayank Kakkad LY COMP Arconnet 5.25 Lacs
Param Batavia LY IT Arconnet 5.25 Lacs
Saurabhkumar Tiwari LY COMP Arconnet 5.25 Lacs
Umang Savla LY COMP Arconnet 5.25 Lacs
Yukta Peswani LY IT Morgan Stanley 25 Lacs
Rushang Gajjal LY COMP Morgan Stanley 25 Lacs
Vidya Makwana LY COMP Barclays 8 Lacs
Rashi Shah LY COMP ZS Associate 8.93 Lacs
Heeral Dedhia LY COMP ZS Associate 8.93 Lacs
Amisha Waghela LY COMP Microsoft R&D 40 Lacs
Gaurav Bhagwanani LY COMP Morgan Stanley 25 Lacs
Ruthu Shetty LY COMP Morgan Stanley 25 lacs
Kunal Sonawane LY COMP Morgan Stanley 25 lacs
Gayatri Srinivasan LY COMP Morgan Stanley 25 lacs
Netra Ghaisas LY COMP Morgan Stanley 25 lacs
Dhwani Parmar LY EXTC CISCO 11.30 lacs
Akash Patil LY EXTC CISCO 11.30 lacs
Manav Parekh LY EXTC CISCO 11.30 lacs
Rutwik Marathe LY  MECH Dassault Systems 5.5 lacs